MMA and UFC Results

EliteXC “Unfinished Business” Results: Robbie Lawler Defeats Scott Smith

EliteXC’s "Unfinished Business" event took place Saturday night at the Stockton Arena in Stockton, California.  This event was televised on Showtime for the first set of bouts and the remaining fights were broadcast on national television (CBS). 

The main event featured Robbie "Ruthless" Lawler who faced Scott Smith for the EliteXC middleweight championship title.  The event was called "Unfinished Business" because their first bout was ended due to a referee stoppage after Lawler inadvertently poked Smith in the eye.  Lawler vs. Smith 2 had everyone at the Stockton arena on their feet as both fighters exchanged blows with no remorse just like in their first battle.  Nonetheless, Lawler won the war as he defeated Smith at 2:35 in the second round.  Lawler was able to defend his belt and remains as the EliteXC weltherweight champion.

Also on the card was Jake Shields, who made his return after being absent for 8 long months.  He defeated Nick Thompson, acquiring the EliteXC welterweight title.  Antonio "Big Foot" Silva attained the EliteXC heavyweight belt for the very first time when he claimed victory over Justin Eilers.  Silva defeated Eilers in the 19th second of the second round via TKO-strikes. 

Nick Diaz made his return as well, beating Thomas Denny in his hometown via TKO strikes in the second round.  The Stockton native and Thoms Denny put up a hell of a fight on Saturday night as well.  Both men had a slug fest going since the very first second of the first round.  It was Diaz who ended up with the victory as he adds a third consecutive win to his record.  A great night of fights for the EliteXC organization as they make up for the EliteXC on CBS lackluster event debut.

Here are the complete EliteXC "Unfinished Business" results:

  • Robbie Lawler defeated Scott Smith via TKO (strikes) — Round 2, 2:35
  • Nick Diaz defeated Thomas Denny via TKO (strikes) — Round 2, 0:30
  • Jake Shields defeated Nick Thompson via submission (guillotine choke) — Round 1, 1:03
  • Cristiane "Cyborg" Santos defeated Shayna Baszler via TKO (strikes) — Round 2, 2:48
  • Antonio Silva defeated Justin Eilers via TKO (strikes) — Round 2, 0:19
  • Rafael "Feijao" Cavalcante defeated Travis Galbraith via TKO (strikes) — Round 1, 3:01
  • Wilson Reis defeated Bryan Caraway via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
  • Carl Seumantafa defeated Mike Cook via TKO (punches) — Round 1, 3:39
  • Drew Montgomery defeated Brandon Tarn via TKO (cut) — Round 3, 4:22
  • Anthony Ruiz defeated Jeromy Freitag via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
  • David Douglas defeated Marlon Mathias via TKO (strikes) — Round 1, 0:12
  • Click to comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.

    To Top