UFC 78 Bonuses given to Ed Herman, Akihiro Gono, Thiago Alves and Chris Lytle

As always, the UFC has continued their tradition of providing bonuses to fighters with the best "submission of the night", the best "knockout of the night" and the two fighters with the best "fight of the night."  Bonuses have continued to increase in every UFC event ever since they first started to give them out.   The first UFC event, where bonuses were distributed, started at $10,000 USD and have moved up to $55,000 USD.

Ed Herman was rewarded the "Knockout of the Night" and was given a total of 55K USD aside from his regular payout salary.  Herman defeated Joe Doerkson by way of KO in the third round.

Akihiro Gono was given the same amount of money as a bonus, attaining the "Submission of the Night" reward.  Gono submitted Tamden McCrory via armbar in the second round.

Lastly, Thiago Alves and Chris Lytle acquired the "Fight of the Night" as they both put up a show in the preliminary fight card.  Although Alves defeated Lytle via TKO-doctor stoppage, both fighters were given the 55K USD bonus.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

To Top